Clowning Around

Scaramouche, also known as scaramouch, is a stock clown character of the commedia dell’arte. The role combined characteristics of the Zanni and the Capitano. Wikipedia

Anthony Scaramucci, also known as “The Mooch”, is an American financier and political figure,
recently sacked by President Trump after only 10 torrid days in office.
Life can be hectic in the White House.

I sometimes think there are gods up there that cast our fates when I see coincidences like the resemblance between Scaramouche and Scaramucci linked by the immortal words of Freddie Mercury, whose line in Bohemian Rhapsody so eloquently sums up the last few days;
“Scaramouche, Scaramouche, can you do the Fandango?”

Clearly the oral pyrotechnics of Scaramucci were more akin to a madcap freestyle Charleston than the grace, elegance and discipline required by a Fandango, so the answer was “no, I can’t do the Fandango”……..hence the sacking – so that clears up that little mystery!

Scaramouche

I need a better mouthpiece
The last one let me down
I’ve tried the usual suspects
I think I need a clown

My policies are comic
I’m always on the go
But as I’m lacking elegance
I can’t go with Pierrot

I need a comic character
Whose mouth moves unimpeded
For when I need to blast my foes
And guile just isn’t needed

I have the perfect candidate
A guy called Scaramouche
I’ve heard he’s good at spouting off
(the French say mal de bouche)

He’ll form a good diversion
The public need a show
I’ll give them bread and circus
Then in ten days he can go

I’m lucky in my choices
Whenever I’m in need
A clown comes forth and does the job
And that’s why I succeed

I manage by distraction
I pick guys off the shelf
They don’t know what I’m doing
As I don’t know that myself.

So as the clowns come forward
They ease away my fears
I’ve only got to keep this up
For just a few more years.

Leave a Reply

